Bay St. Louis, July 1998, by Sony Mavica, pt 1

In the summer of 1998 a coworker bought a Sony Mavica digital camera. I borrowed it over the July 4th weekend and put it to work. It was a low-resolution camera, with the images being only 640X480 and stored on a floppy disc. We didn’t know much about JPEG’s at the time and it looks like they got saved a few times. The best part of the camera was its 10X optical zoom. The 3.5 floppy disc Mavica was introduced in 1997.

So bear with me here, with these over-compressed images. I decided to include them in the blog because they show many things I never shot with film or later digital cameras. I don’t know where I stored them back then, I must have downloaded them onto my work computer because I didn’t have one of my own until the following year. I bought my first digital camera two years later.

Brick path on S. Necaise.

Brick path on S. Necaise.

Baptist Church, Main St.

Baptist Church, Main St.

Beach Blvd. near the railroad.

Beach Blvd. near the railroad.

CSX trestle.

CSX trestle.

Hard to believe that the top was knocked off by Katrina.

Trestle pivot span open.

Trestle pivot span open.

Gift shop on Main St.

Gift shop on Main St.

City Hall.

City Hall.

Houses at 2nd and Railroad.

Houses at 2nd and Railroad.

They’re still there.

Live Oak next to City Hall.

Live Oak next to City Hall.

Mural on Main St.

Mural on Main St.

This entry was posted in Bay St. Louis and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

